A Review of the 1937 Season

Over the Winter 1936-7 the Club competed in the West Essex Cricket Clubs darts league and won it (they repeated the feat in 1937-8 too !) – the grand prize being a lavatory pan! The triumphant side toured pubs and cricket clubs to play against other local sides involved in the League.


Freddie Cheesewright was Captain and the 1st XI notched up

6 consecutive wins in June/ July out of a total of 11 victories.


The 2s also won ten games including ending Winchmore Hill’s 2s unbeaten record for the season on 24 July


The results we know about were as follows:






1st XI




2nd XI




3rd XI




Sun A XI




Sun B XI





Bill Adamson captured a hat trick as he took 6-23 in the 2nd XI match v Buckhurst Hill and went on to take 63 wickets in 20 games at a miserly 8.97. As usual, Jock Harwood led the wicketometer with 71 in 22 games, including 7-43 v Cheshunt whilst Gordon Downes chipped in with 53. Don Spencer with 7-70 v Edmonton and George Chapman with 7-52 v Bishops Stortford also put in outstanding bowling spells.


George Chapman was the Club’s leading run scorer with 637 and hit his maiden century as he amassed 138 in the 1st XI match at home to Highams Park. Other centurions were S. Day with 121 v Highams Park while Don Spencer took a liking to the bowlers of teams with insect names – smashing 105 v Caterpillars and 100 v Grasshoppers


One of the big matches of the season saw CB Fordham’s XI, made up entirely of Herts County players, amass 250 – Jock Harwood capturing 5-76. In reply, a strong Chingford line up featuring both Don Spencer and Len Parslow could only manage 98 all out – of which S. Day made 43.


In the Tennis Section the Cornish Challenge Cup was won by Miss B Tonge (Ladies’ Singles) and Mr WR Harper (Men’s Singles) and the Petingall-Norbury Trophy (Mixed Doubles) was unfinished. The Ladies Doubles was won by Mrs Loe and Miss A Gillham, while Mr EJ Curtis and Mr E D Tonge claimed the Men’s Doubles


The match results were:

Men Played 6 Won 5 Lost 0 Drawn 1 – Captain was NR Tyrrell

Ladies Played 4 Lost 4 – Captain was Miss Elsie Mardall