Chingford Cricket Club Sat 2nd v Benfleet on Sat 20 Aug 2005 at 1330
Match was Drawn N/A

Match report Benfleet won the toss and put Chingford into bat on a wet wicket. A steady opening partnership of 44 was followed by a number of good partnerships with all batsmen contributing usefully to the final total of 249 for 5 off 52 overs. However the pick of the Chingford batsmen was Marc Fletcher who carried his bat for an unbeaten 124, his first 2nd team hundred. The highlight of the innings (except for the Chingford number 4) was the run out of Darren Ross and his subsequent observations that the side would consequently struggle to reach 200!

In reply Benfleet started badly when they lost their overseas player for 0 (bowled by Steve Piper). When they lost their third wicket when the score was 49 Benfleet made the amazing decision to shut up shop with nearly two hour's cricket to go. On a pitch that had dried considerably and was easy paced Chingford did not manage to bowl the visitors out (although a key and contoversial rejection of an lbw appeal played its part). Chingford players and spectators alike were bemused by the final statistics of Benfleet's innings.........91 for 6 off 54 overs with 31 maidens bowled. The lack of any enterprise by Benfleet in even attempting to gain more than a token number of points for themselves will long be remembered.

Chingford 10 points/Benfleet 2points

Man of the Match = Marc Fletcher

Chingford Cricket Club Sat 2nd Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 5 wickets
Marc Fletcher Not Out  124 1
Paul Shawyer Bowled  12
Richard Alston Bowled  46
Darren Ross Run out  12 1
Mike Lyon Run out  21
Yogi Flora Caught  10
Steven Piper Not Out  12
Andrew Chipchase   1
Stephen Thorne  
Richard MacGregor  
Andy Perrin  

Benfleet Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

Benfleet Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 6 wickets
91 (0.0 overs)

Chingford Cricket Club Sat 2nd Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Steven Piper11.0726126.002.36
Andy Perrin10.0616116.001.60
Andrew Chipchase8.07111.000.12
Richard MacGregor9.041829.002.00
Stephen Thorne4.00800.002.00
Darren Ross5.03717.001.40
Yogi Flora7.04800.001.14

  • Umpire :
    Ian Fullbrook
  • Scorer :
    Mark Lawrence